Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Manchester recs

your favourite tipple - wine, beer, spirits
swill453
Lemon Half

Manchester recs

Postby swill453 » December 23rd, 2016, 5:42 pm

Any recommendations for real ale pubs in Manchester city centre or Chinatown area?

Scott.

AleisterCrowley
Lemon Half

Re: Manchester recs

Postby AleisterCrowley » December 23rd, 2016, 6:59 pm

Clitheroekid
Lemon Quarter

Postby Clitheroekid » December 23rd, 2016, 8:01 pm

swill453 wrote:Any recommendations for real ale pubs in Manchester city centre or Chinatown area?

Scott.

Some chums of mine who work in Manchester rate this place - http://www.portstreetbeerhouse.co.uk/

Sadly, I've no personal experience of it, but I would trust their judgment.

swill453
Lemon Half

Postby swill453 » December 23rd, 2016, 11:33 pm

Clitheroekid wrote:Some chums of mine who work in Manchester rate this place - http://www.portstreetbeerhouse.co.uk/

Sadly, I've no personal experience of it, but I would trust their judgment.

Well it's the nearest Good Beer Guide pub to our hotel, so it definitely gets on the list.

Scott.

Imbiber
2 Lemon pips

Postby Imbiber » December 24th, 2016, 5:09 am

The Port Street Beer House is excellent and gets very, very busy.

The Knott on Deansgate is worth a look, as is Cask, top end of Liverpool Road, just off Deansgate.

Best of all and a 15 minute walk from Port Street is The Marble Arch, 73 Rochdale Road. Stunning Victorian interior, a floor that slopes down about 3 feet down to the bar and most of the Marble beers on tap. ( The food is good as well ) Don't miss it!

Take a look here;

http://pubsandbeer.co.uk/index.php?ID=H&H=B

Wassail !

Hallucigenia
Lemon Quarter

Postby Hallucigenia » January 5th, 2017, 6:34 pm

FWIW (I assume this threat is no longer relevant) it depends a bit how casky you want to be.