Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Wasron,jfgw,Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly, for Donating to support the site

Creating Wife's SIPP

Index tracking funds and ETFs
NapoleonD
2 Lemon pips

Creating Wife's SIPP

Postby NapoleonD » February 7th, 2024, 11:11 am

Hi all

Investing newbie here. I'e 'hummed and hawed' about this foir a while, and time to take the plunge. I have 3 DC pensions which I may move in due course, but need to address Mrs NDs pension situation.

She became self-employed last year, and of course needs some pension provision. A SIPP seems the ideal way to go, and she is likely to be a lower-rate taxpayer (her business will not need to be VAT registered, and her turnover is £1500 - £2000 per month).

The investments should run for 13-16 years before she needs to drawdown (she's currently 49).

My plan for this was an 80% / 20% split along the following lines:

40% S&P 500 UCITS ETF (VUSA) Accumulation
40% FTSE All-World UCITS ETF (VWRL) Accumulation
20% USD Treasury Bond UCITS ETF (VUTY) Accumulation

I could transfer a prior DC she has with BMI which has a value of approx 25k.

Over time I'd look to veering towards bonds as she approaches retirement.

I'm also contemplating taking one of my DCs and performing the same actions, though I am on course for retirement at 62 in 8 years.

Does this sound like a reasonable plan?

EthicsGradient
Lemon Slice

Re: Creating Wife's SIPP

Postby EthicsGradient » February 7th, 2024, 11:29 am

That's heavily concentrated in the USA - FTSE All World is about 62% USA, but you're increasing that with the others (and your bonds are only American). Is there a reason for this, eg balancing your own pensions which you think aren't American enough?

tjh290633
Lemon Half

Postby tjh290633 » February 7th, 2024, 11:46 am

First you need to choose your SIPP provider with care. Look at their charges and the available range of investments.