Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva, for Donating to support the site

Can someone explain Bitcoin to me?

How to buy, profit and invest in crypto currencies or NFTs
stevensfo
Lemon Quarter

Can someone explain Bitcoin to me?

Postby stevensfo » January 27th, 2022, 12:49 pm

I understand how pound and euro banknotes work, i.e. the notes have no real value themselves but represent countries with established economies, power, stability, potential etc, are accepted as such and can therefore be used as a means of exchange. The alternative would be to pay for my shopping with a few rabbits or 20kg timber. ;)

Can some kind soul explain how bitcoin works? Despite being a regular on TMF and TLF, my background is in Biochemistry, not Economics and I just can't get my head around how bitcoin works. Why should I ever agree to accept payment in it?

With apologies to those who DO understand it!

Steve

JohnB
Lemon Quarter

Re: Can someone explain Bitcoin to me?

Postby JohnB » January 27th, 2022, 1:15 pm

I strongly disapprove of Bitcoin on environmental grounds. You might like to weigh https://digiconomist.net/bitcoin-energy-consumption with any arguments from others as to why Bitcoin is a good thing.

stevensfo
Lemon Quarter

Postby stevensfo » January 27th, 2022, 1:23 pm

JohnB wrote:I strongly disapprove of Bitcoin on environmental grounds. You might like to weigh https://digiconomist.net/bitcoin-energy-consumption with any arguments from others as to why Bitcoin is a good thing.

I fully agree with you, John, having read about the ridiculous amounts of electricity required.

However, in this case, my question is more about the monetary side.

Even if solar power were used, what exactly IS Bitcoin and why should someone accept it as payment?

Steve

Midsmartin
Lemon Slice

Postby Midsmartin » January 27th, 2022, 1:40 pm