Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Wasron,jfgw,Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly, for Donating to support the site

Buying Land as an investment

Covering Market, Trends, and Practical (but see LEMON-AID for Building & DIY)
Matello7777

Buying Land as an investment

Postby Matello7777 » August 19th, 2022, 9:28 pm

Hi all,
I'm new to looking at buying land, not necessarily to build on but just as something to maybe pass onto my kids.
There's a plot of woodland up for auction near where I live.
It's 2 acres, no planning permission which doesn't bother me as it's not to build on for me.
A public footpath and bridleway border the woodland
I would consider using it as a source of fire wood for any fallen trees to save of fuel bills for my log burner at home.
Are there any potential pitfalls I should be wary of or questions I need to ask about buying a private woodland?
Any legal responsibilities etc?
Thanks
Mark

Mike4
Lemon Half

Re: Buying Land as an investment

Postby Mike4 » August 19th, 2022, 11:34 pm

Matello7777 wrote:Hi all,
I'm new to looking at buying land, not necessarily to build on but just as something to maybe pass onto my kids.
There's a plot of woodland up for auction near where I live.
It's 2 acres, no planning permission which doesn't bother me as it's not to build on for me.
A public footpath and bridleway border the woodland
I would consider using it as a source of fire wood for any fallen trees to save of fuel bills for my log burner at home.
Are there any potential pitfalls I should be wary of or questions I need to ask about buying a private woodland?
Any legal responsibilities etc?
Thanks
Mark