Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva, for Donating to support the site

How to setup a SIPP for an IT Contractor

TopOfDaMornin
Lemon Pip

How to setup a SIPP for an IT Contractor

Postby TopOfDaMornin » March 1st, 2019, 12:18 pm

Hopefully I have the right board.

Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction for setting up a SIPP?

Like a few people on this site, I am an IT Contractor with my own limited company. I take money from the company via an annual salary (approx. £8k) and dividends (approx. £40k). I would like to set up a SIPP in the limited company and invest either a lump sum or regular contributions in either a Vanguard World Tracker or a Vanguard Lifestyle product. I have not decided which one yet.

Any direction on how to do this would be appreciated. I have search the web and there is surprisingly limited amount of information on how to set this up.

At the moment, most of my investing is done via an ISA e.g. received annual dividend from my company is put into a HYP held in an ISA.

Alaric
Lemon Half

Re: How to setup a SIPP for an IT Contractor

Postby Alaric » March 1st, 2019, 12:28 pm

TopOfDaMornin wrote:I would like to set up a SIPP in the limited company

I thought a SIPP, given that it stands for Self Invested Personal Pension, was always set up in the same of the individual. That doesn't prevent the limited company making a contribution.

The equivalent for Companies is SSAS (Small Self Administered Scheme). These are a good deal more complex and expensive but can have wider investment powers, property used by the Company for example, than might be allowed in a plain SIPP.

moorfield
Lemon Quarter

Postby moorfield » March 1st, 2019, 2:53 pm

TopOfDaMornin wrote:Hopefully I have the right board.

Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction for setting up a SIPP?