Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Wasron,jfgw,Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly, for Donating to support the site

Home Insurance Legal Cover

including wills and probate
Peanutte
Lemon Pip

Home Insurance Legal Cover

Postby Peanutte » December 21st, 2023, 11:08 am

I am completely new to claiming on a home insurance policy. Please don't shoot me down in flames over this if I've done it all wrong -

In 2021/2022 I had an architect design a front extension to my home. Planning permission and building regs were obtained.

October 2022: Building work started.

February 2023: Work finished. I do not have a problem with the quality of the work.

But after they had finished and the dust had settled, I realised that the builders had not followed the plans accurately.

I really did not want to get the builder back and have an argument with him.

Anyway, the entire thing kept on bugging me. In the end I decided that I either have to let it go or do something about it so I contacted my home insurance provider – with whom I have Legal Cover - for advice.

August: I rang the insurance company 'Legal Helpline' three times during August and spoke to different people - and received very differing information. Was told to write to the builder. This was all very new to me and I was not sure what I was supposed to be doing.

3 September: As instructed I wrote to the builder outlining my issues. I had initially thought I would claim £3,000 but after speaking to the Helpline, I increased this to £25,000 which I understood would be negotiated down.

6 September: After my third call to the Helpline, they sent me a claim form which I completed and returned.

6 September: I was immediately contacted by another company who had to decide if my claim was suitable to go forward.

13 September: They emailed again asking for copy contract, photographs, any correspondence. Full details of claim etc.