Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva, for Donating to support the site

VCT recommendations

Sophisticated and complex high-risk tax-sensitive investments in small companies: handle with care
ravindragokhale

VCT recommendations

Postby ravindragokhale » January 5th, 2022, 12:01 am

I am fairly new to VCTs. I have 25-30 K to invest and which VCTs I should go for? I have educated myself by checking Bestinvest and Wealthclub websites and i understand the risks and the Tax incentives etc. I am a bit confused as there are quite a few VCTs on offer.
Which are the best performing VCTs to go for this year?
Many thanks.

UncleEbenezer
The full Lemon

Re: VCT recommendations

Postby UncleEbenezer » January 5th, 2022, 1:10 am

How long is a piece of string?

You can find a lot of information here on which VCTs Fools favour, and why. Be sure to check why many Fools have reservations about the sector as a whole just now: they may be paying sky-high prices for new investments. Generally speaking, there's been a lot of shakeout of poor performers, and any of today's mainstream VCTs will have a management team with track record. But the past is no guide to the future, and that's certainly true in VCTs.

You can use the AIC website to compare historic performances and management charges. The latter range from rather high (which reflects the greater burden of managing VCT investments compared to listed companies) to outrageous, particularly where there are performance bonuses with no meaningful hurdle.

Apart from that, the information at BestInvest or Wealthclub (I use the latter) is probably as good as you're going to get. Along with information published by the VCTs themselves.