Page 1 of 1

Stockmarketeye 5

Posted: April 26th, 2019, 1:45 pm
by FoolishRix
Any Stockmarketeye users here?
Have you migrated to v5? If so, how does the new datafeed from MSN Money perform compared with the old Yahoo feed (which has been rubbish for me)?
....or are you all using Stockopedia?

Re: Stockmarketeye 5

Posted: April 26th, 2019, 3:12 pm
by mrbrightside
Historic charts work better in V5 for Vanguard and iShares ETF's using MSN. Haven't tried any other of my (mainly FTSE250) UK shares as they already work fine. Not sure if I'm going to commit to $50 p.a though.

Re: Stockmarketeye 5

Posted: May 2nd, 2019, 9:47 am
by PitBullCH
Not tried v5 yet - not sure I will at £50/pa but not sure what other options exist for Mac local clients (I prefer not to hand over such data to a website).

Re: Stockmarketeye 5

Posted: May 3rd, 2019, 7:44 am
by formoverfunction
I don't like paying for software like this after paying up for Investoscope only to find that stopped a year later.

Now I have a portfolio on London Stock Exchange (free) and have RNS delivered to a second email (free)

I also run JStock (free) on Virtual Box (free) on my laptop.

https://jstock.org/

https://www.virtualbox.org/

You can run JStock on a range of operating systems, but I've chosen to use it in a virtual enviroment as I'm migrating my oldish laptop to Linux to avoid replacing it for a while longer.

I back up the JStock file to the cloud using Pcloud (similar to DropBox) (free) and use an old Raspberry Pi and salvaged ssd to keep local versions.

I believe StockMarketeye is very similar to Investoscope was, less attractive GUI if I'm honest (I tried the trial version) ( https://www.stockmarketeye.com/blog/inv ... ternative/), but JStock and the LSE RNS to me is a better combination.

I like JStock on Linux as you can get to the csv files behind the reports ( ls -a in the relevant directories) and I can then manipulate them in excel if I want a report the system doesn't provide.

It's a job to migrate the files across/create the 2 portfolio's but once it's done, I find my complex portfolio is better served.

Hope that helps as an alternative.

Re: Stockmarketeye 5

Posted: June 3rd, 2019, 10:20 am
by FoolishRix
Thank you all very much for your responses. I tried JStock many years ago and found it clunky. However, it seems to have been re-written since then so will give it a go.

Re: Stockmarketeye 5

Posted: June 4th, 2019, 11:44 am
by mrbrightside
mrbrightside wrote:Historic charts work better in V5 for Vanguard and iShares ETF's using MSN. Haven't tried any other of my (mainly FTSE250) UK shares as they already work fine. Not sure if I'm going to commit to $50 p.a though.


SME is now on version 5.0.6 after a flurry of updates for the new version. I umm'ed and aah'ed and eventually decided that $50 (£40) a year was a worthwhile investment. Mainly because the developer is so responsive. Doesn't necessarily mean the software will be around in 5 years but still...

Re: Stockmarketeye 5

Posted: June 12th, 2019, 4:44 am
by Yoda
I have tried JStock not too long ago but also found it a bit clunky and lacking a lot of features but like the fact that it is free. I may give it ago again if it has improved.

In my research I found the following two programs. Does anyone have any experience with them?

https://www.stockportfolioorganizer.com

https://www.investmentaccountmanager.com/

Re: Stockmarketeye 5

Posted: February 11th, 2020, 3:12 pm
by PitBullCH
Any further commends on SME v5 - for anybody that upgraded, was it worth it, and if so, why ?

Any other new alternatives in the meantime ?

Re: Stockmarketeye 5

Posted: February 13th, 2020, 5:03 pm
by FoolishRix
I was an SME4 user for years.
I tried SME5 and had a few issues:

In SME4 I had quite a lot of stocks in several portfolios and watchlists. I originally entered them work to get data from the Google feed. When that stopped working I used Yahoo. Making the change was easy: export to csv, use a macro to change the symbol from "LON:BP" to " BP.L" then import back to SME which would pick up the new datafeed. This doesn’t seem to work in SME5. It meant it would take a long time for me to migrate my portfolios and watchlists from SME4 to SME5.

The developer told me
it's not possible to directly translate Yahoo symbols "BP.L" to MSN ticker symbols. Due to the way MSN works, we have to go through the symbol search first to get an internal identifier for the ticker symbol. The BP.LON that you see in our symbols search is just the ticker symbol, but it also has a (non-visible) identifier that we use with MSN to get quotes for the ticker symbol.


There were several other minor issues which reduced the usability of the application.
It's a shame but I uninstalled it and have continued using SME4 plus websites.

Re: Stockmarketeye 5

Posted: April 28th, 2020, 4:04 pm
by PitBullCH
That's a first - crap migration to latest version of own program - since I flogged my entire portfolio pre-crash it's not an issue to enter new ones as and when I re-enter, but I have a shed-load of watchlists, don't really want to have to fiddle around with those.

Also noticed btw tham SME4 prices seem to be uniformly toast (i.e. zero) since April 22nd - need to check if they switched it off or if it's a market data issue upstream - did notices Yahoo also had a few weird looking prices, so might well be the latter.

Re: Stockmarketeye 5

Posted: April 29th, 2020, 9:29 am
by PitBullCH
Seeing an issue with SME4 - all charts show prices since April 22nd at zero - every single stock I looked at is the same.

I emailed support and they suggested reloading chart data, but this didn't fix it. Now they claim this is an issue with Yahoo market data (almost certainly true), that SME5 has code in place to resolve this, but SME4 does not - hence advice to upgrade to SME5.

Grrr :-(

Re: Stockmarketeye 5

Posted: April 29th, 2020, 9:46 am
by PitBullCH
PitBullCH wrote:That's a first - crap migration to latest version of own program - since I flogged my entire portfolio pre-crash it's not an issue to enter new ones as and when I re-enter, but I have a shed-load of watchlists, don't really want to have to fiddle around with those.


I was forced to download and try SME5 due to recent SME4 charting issues - dark mode at least is a very welcome addition :-) Actually the overall look and feel is quite nice.

All the Yahoo symbols seem fine and are working - basically the migration was painless. Whether I want to stay using Yahoo prices or go with MSN I guess I will decide later.

Still sore about the £50/year subscription, though I do understand what they say about business viability and sustainability of the app (I was an Investoscope user back in the day). Guess I'm going to have to stump up as it's still a better holistic solution than faffing about with online website portfolios, excel sheets and the like. Damn :-(