Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Migration of Microsoft Money to new pc

Discussions regarding financial software
MyNameIsUrl
Lemon Slice

Migration of Microsoft Money to new pc

Postby MyNameIsUrl » December 13th, 2020, 8:45 pm

I’ve been using Microsoft Money for many years on an XP pc, and now I need to migrate my data to a new Win10 laptop.

I use Money to store bank transactions so that I can analyse spending by category, and find historic transactions. I don’t do anything sophisticated such as budget planning, paying bills or investment portfolios.

Currently I have Money v12.0, and to get bank transactions into it I download a .ofx file from my online bank statement (Nationwide BS) then convert that to a .qif file using a free utility MT2OFX. This .qif file is then imported into Money using file>import.

Has anyone got any tips before I get bogged down in the migration? I’m expecting the main steps to be:
Download Money Sunset to new pc
Download MT2OFX
Download some test bank transactions in .ofx format
Convert .ofx to .qif and test import to Money, setting up test account as required
Once the update process is working, delete those test transactions/accounts
Copy .mny file to new laptop in the appropriate directory
Open Money and find all my data is there, including accounts, transactions, categories and subcategories

Looks simple in principle, but there will be detailed issues along the way I expect. Does anyone have any pointers or warnings for me please?

TurboukToo2

Re: Migration of Microsoft Money to new pc

Postby TurboukToo2 » December 14th, 2020, 7:41 am

I'm on Windows 10 using MS Money 2005 (UK Sunset version) and incrementally got here by upgrading from Vista and MS Money 2002 over the years.