Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Wasron,jfgw,Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly, for Donating to support the site

Yahoo data pull failing in Google Sheets

Discussions regarding financial software
Ashstevens848

Yahoo data pull failing in Google Sheets

Postby Ashstevens848 » May 11th, 2023, 5:16 pm

Hi All

I have created a very simple google sheet to track my shares and dividend info I'm not a coder by any means, until a few days ago I was able to get all the US dividend info using a link such as below to pull the data into my google sheet;

=INDEX(split(IMPORTXML(concatenate("....finance.yahoo.../quote/",B10),"//*[@id='quote-summary']/div[2]/table/tbody/tr[6]/td[2]"),"()"),1)

B10 being the stock ticker field cell such as T for AT&T

(not allowed to post links but hopefully you get the idea)

The UK and European shares never worked but does anyone know why this would have stopped working suddenly or know of an easy way for me to fix this or a better way for me to get the dividend amount ?

Many Thanks in Advance

doolally
Lemon Slice

Re: Yahoo data pull failing in Google Sheets

Postby doolally » May 11th, 2023, 5:22 pm

Have a look at this thread: viewtopic.php?f=27&t=38834

We can't see all of your cell contents, but I suspect that a change from the Yahoo v7 API to v6 may fix the problem
doolally

Ashstevens848

Postby Ashstevens848 » May 11th, 2023, 5:30 pm

not using an API just and importxml query any ideas ? not familiar on how to use an API

ReformedCharacter
Lemon Quarter

Postby ReformedCharacter » May 11th, 2023, 6:48 pm

Ashstevens848 wrote:Hi All

I have created a very simple google sheet to track my shares and dividend info I'm not a coder by any means, until a few days ago I was able to get all the US dividend info using a link such as below to pull the data into my google sheet;