Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Another confidence-boosting request for your expert appraisals

Including Financial Independence and Retiring Early (FIRE)
Chindit

Another confidence-boosting request for your expert appraisals

Postby Chindit » February 26th, 2020, 12:29 pm

Hi all. I am a newbie to this excellent forum and first want to apologize for this needy-sounding, confidence-salving plea. Like so many others I am sick to death of my job! I am a 52 male and hoped/planned to duck out of work at age 55-60. However, the past few years have been a living hell and for sake of my mental health I want to bring that escape forward a couple of years. I don't have much in the way of transferable skills and starting a new full-time job is not really feasible for various reasons.. Be that as it may, I don't intend to be idol in retirement and will be undertaking some voluntary and low-financially draining activities.

Assets-wise I calculate the following:
1. Own home - no mortgage but with no medium term intention of downsizing
2. 2nd rental property - current value 375k with a mortgage of 150k
3. SIPP - current value = 200k
4. Company Pension with a transfer value = 180k (I'm in the process of transferring this to a SIPP)
5. Current Pension - current value = 40k
6. Cash and other semi-liquid assets = 50k

I intend to sell the 2nd property in the medium term. I had a few rental/tenant issues and can't be doing with that agro anymore. I estimate the sale to yield 200k after CGT some of which I intend to gradually hive off into ISAs.

So in summary I calculate the following:
Liquid/semi-liquid assets = 250k
In-pension assets = 420k