Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Writing a Eulogy

A friendly ear
moorfield
Lemon Quarter

Writing a Eulogy

Postby moorfield » December 5th, 2018, 10:48 pm

Not sure where to post this one ...

I've got 10 days to write a eulogy for the old man, at possibly the sh****st time of year to do such things, and am at a complete loss where to start.

Can anyone give me any pointers on how to construct such speeches ? "Best Man" speeches suddenly seem simples ...

Thanks in advance (and may not be visiting LF for a long while now)

Sussexlad
Lemon Slice

Re: Writing a Eulogy

Postby Sussexlad » December 6th, 2018, 7:30 am

I have no practical experience but I thought these three eulogies from G H W Bush's funeral were really touching and may provide a few clues,

Brian Mulroney & Alan Simpson
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U7aY_W2hFj8&t=45m50s

George Bush jnr
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U7aY_W2hFj8&t=1h15m00s

yorkshirelad1
Lemon Slice

Postby yorkshirelad1 » December 6th, 2018, 8:18 am

moorfield wrote:Not sure where to post this one ...

I've got 10 days to write a eulogy for the old man, at possibly the sh****st time of year to do such things, and am at a complete loss where to start.

Can anyone give me any pointers on how to construct such speeches ? "Best Man" speeches suddenly seem simples ...

Thanks in advance (and may not be visiting LF for a long while now)