Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77, for Donating to support the site

End of Year Review and possible rethink?

A helpful place to also put any annual reports etc, of your own portfolios
zharrt

End of Year Review and possible rethink?

Postby zharrt » January 4th, 2022, 9:57 am

I have been managing my SIPP since 2012, and at the end of each year I try to work out if I am still doing the right thing.

I am 40 year old, self employed with a SIPP in the low six figures, according to my figures (which might not be the same way everyone else does them but it's how I have done them each year so I can compare like for like) my total pot grew 12.55%, and this includes 6.07% dividends and the rest in growth. I have also been adding capital equal to about 10% off the fund value at the start of the year (however this has been an unusual year where I have been able to put in more than normal this year so is not sustainable long term).

At the start of the year I was 100% focus on individual shares, about 30 in total but I have started to move most of the new capital into three funds (HICL, HFEL, MYI) and my aim is each of these will get to 11% of my holding (33% in total) all dividends are reinvested unless the holding exceeds my target which are then added to the new capital and used to increase the holdings of the three funds.

My calculations are taken as following:

Yield = average dividend value of the last three years divided by total purchase price of the holdings
Value = current price / average purchase prices
Income = (current price * shares) / (purchase price - total dividends)

So, other than my ramblings I suppose I should be asking a question, and the big question (am I doing the right thing) probably can't be answered.