Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Car Insurance when Licence temp surrendered

Passion, instruction, buying, care, maintenance and more, any form of vehicle discussion is welcome here
raybarrow
Lemon Slice

Car Insurance when Licence temp surrendered

Postby raybarrow » July 31st, 2021, 9:36 am

Hi Folks,

As you know probably I'm looking to change my Fiesta for an 'old person's' car, Honda Jazz, to extend my driving years and help with Mrs B's mobility. Mrs B has had to surrender her licence for six months after a recent brain operation (which went well) and with all that going on I hadn't thought about the consequencies for the insurance.

I am the main driver on my Fiesta and Mrs B is a named driver. Mrs B is the main driver on her Ka and I am a named driver.
As she has had to surrender her licence for six months do I need to tell both insurance companies? Depending on her progression she may decide not to start driving again. She doesn't 'enjoy' driving but accepts it's usefullness. I am well into free bus pass age she is not there yet since they moved her pension age (Feb 2023).

Ray.

bungeejumper
Lemon Half

Re: Car Insurance when Licence temp surrendered

Postby bungeejumper » July 31st, 2021, 10:09 am

If you've reported the licence suspension to one policy, it would be as well to report it to both. Insurers have access to each other's records through the confidential central database that they all share, and they can get a bit stroppy if one of them thinks you're not declaring something on a named driver.