Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

Anyone in to swinging :)

Honest reporting on shorter-term trading activity and ideas
rams

Anyone in to swinging :)

Postby rams » February 9th, 2021, 7:35 pm

Swing trading I mean?

I'm new to all of this and around Christmas I transferred my very small pension pot of £25k into a SIPP and £5k with Hargreaves Lansdowne. I'm 45years old and realise I left it saving late, but now intend on making up for it.

So I need to learn about computer screen setup, trading software and anything else.

Leif
Lemon Pip

Re: Anyone in to swinging :)

Postby Leif » February 9th, 2021, 10:10 pm

Sounds rather risky. In my opinion you’d better off putting it in a unit trust. A lot of people like global index funds. Even a US index fund would be lower risk, just leave it alone for 20 years.

argoal
2 Lemon pips

Postby argoal » February 10th, 2021, 10:05 am

Great idea rams!

Unfortunately 30K if way too little to learn about swing trading. It will probably be gone in a few months.

You need at least 350K to make it a worth while pursuit.

If you put £500 a month into your SIPP invested in a global tracker such as VWRL and don’t touch it for 20 years, you should have around 350K to start learning about swing trading with.

If, on the other hand, you change your mind about swing trading as the path to wealth along the way you would still have a reasonable sum available to support you in retirement or buy the latest Tesla flying car with.

BobGe
Lemon Slice

Postby BobGe » February 11th, 2021, 6:12 am

Agree. You've nothing like enough funds to play around and it's not sensible to risk your pension pot even if it's very small. To be adventurous you need to have enough to work with to make it worthwhile and be able to loose a decent portion of that without it bothering you.