Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva,scotia,Anonymous,Cornytiv34, for Donating to support the site

First-time angel investor

Any other investment discussions eg. peer to peer lending
HelenG

First-time angel investor

Postby HelenG » January 2nd, 2022, 7:19 pm

Hi everyone

I'm in the process of investing a relatively small amount (£3-5K) into a startup company. It's my first time investing in anything other than a pension pot and so I'm a little bewildered and hoping you might be able to offer some guidance.

The company has received backing by established venture capital firms and the founder is a well respected figure in their field. This is all to say that it is a legitimate business. However, I’m a bit thrown by two points in the contract and the accompanying documentation.

The first is the share price. At the beginning of the contract it says:

“By a subscription for shares dated of even date herewith (the “Subscriber”) subscribed for Ordinary Shares of £0.0001 each in the capital of [company name]”

However, further down in the document, it says:

“I apply for the allotment and issue to me of Ordinary Shares as set out in the table below at a purchase price per share of £3.5132”.

In other words, the share price is significantly higher than the amount stated above. How should l interpret this? And am I right in thinking that £3.5132 per share for a very new company is quite high?

Separately, I am wondering if the following clause in the shareholders' agreement document is a standard one:

Each of the Shareholders undertakes to the Company that he shall not, and shall not agree to, transfer, mortgage, charge or otherwise dispose of or grant any option or other rights over, the whole or any part of his interest in any shares in the capital of the Company to any person, except where permitted or required to do so pursuant to the New Articles or this agreement.