Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77, for Donating to support the site

Is it wise to invest in Shares in March 2017

Any other investment discussions eg. peer to peer lending
Dumbledore

Is it wise to invest in Shares in March 2017

Postby Dumbledore » March 3rd, 2017, 12:26 pm

Hello all,

I am new to investing in shares & stocks. I have noticed that the FTSE 250 is at a 10 year high in March 2017.

Is it sensible to buy shares when the market is booming?

I was thinking that i should wait till the market goes down before i buy any shares for my Share ISA. Is that wise?

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks.

kiloran
Lemon Quarter

Re: Is it wise to invest in Shares in March 2017

Postby kiloran » March 3rd, 2017, 12:44 pm

Dumbledore wrote:Hello all,

I am new to investing in shares & stocks. I have noticed that the FTSE 250 is at a 10 year high in March 2017.

I was thinking that i should wait till the market goes down before i buy any shares for my Share ISA. Is that wise?

Thanks.

Here's a chart of the FTSE250 over 10 years. https://www.google.co.uk/finance?chdnp= ... authuser=0
Quickly cover the chart with a piece of paper. Now gradually slide the paper to the right so that you can see only the early part of the chart. Now try and forecast what the index will do in the future, then move the paper further to the right to see if you were correct.
If you can forecast the future most of the time, then you are a genius! If not, like the rest of us, remember the adage "It's time in the market, not timing the market".
If you have a large lump sum to invest, you may prefer to invest a little at a time, that way you might not suffer too badly with a near-term market crash. Of course, you might instead miss out on some big gains.

Alternatively, replace all of my preceding waffle with...... "Nobody knows"

--kiloran

vrdiver
Lemon Quarter