Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva, for Donating to support the site

How does one invest in gold?

Investment discussion for beginners. Why you should invest your money, get help getting started
stressor

How does one invest in gold?

Postby stressor » December 27th, 2019, 11:20 am

totally naive, but how you invest in gold? is it actually held somewhere if you buy?
Moderator Message:
Topic has moved away from TA so moved here. - Chris

staffordian
Lemon Quarter

Re: How does one invest in gold?

Postby staffordian » December 27th, 2019, 7:00 pm

stressor wrote:totally naive, but how you invest in gold? is it actually held somewhere if you buy?

I'm no expert but there are two basic ways.

The first is to buy holdings in gold related firms, funds etc. I know next to nothing about this.

The second is to physically hold gold, either yourself or have it kept by the dealer. I don't fancy this latter option, though I dare say there are many reputable companies offering this.

Holding it yourself, the key choice is bullion or coin. My choice is coin, speciffically used sovereigns, which attract neither VAT nor CGT on sales, whereas bullion does.

https://www.hattongardenmetals.com/ were recommended to me and I found them easy to deal with for both buying and selling. No conection other than as a satisfied user.

Hopefully an expert will be along to add flesh to these very bare bones.

Staffordian

ReformedCharacter
Lemon Quarter

Postby ReformedCharacter » December 27th, 2019, 7:16 pm

There are gold ETFs such as iShares Gold Trust:

https://www.ishares.com/us/products/239 ... trust-fund

And companies that will sell\buy and store bullion for you, doubtless there are some in the UK, but the Perth mint seems to be well regarded:

https://www.perthmint.com/invest.aspx

RC

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » December 28th, 2019, 2:00 pm