Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77, for Donating to support the site

Really Great Article on PI Advantage

Investment discussion for beginners. Why you should invest your money, get help getting started
doug2500
Lemon Slice

Really Great Article on PI Advantage

Postby doug2500 » December 2nd, 2020, 4:23 pm

We've probably all heard the arguments about why PI's can do better than Fund managers, and why Funds underperform benchmarks, but I've never read it in such a clear and convincing way:

https://theundercoverfundmanager.com/ho ... -the-pros/

It was flagged on Stockopedia this morning and I think it's well worth sharing here too.

As a fund manager I have good access to company management teams, third party research, professional subscriptions and a network of contacts. I attend conferences (virtually nowadays), capital markets events etc. I have Bloomberg data on tap and qualifications coming out of my ears. And yet a significant number of private investors will have performed much better than me.

Arborbridge
The full Lemon

Re: Really Great Article on PI Advantage

Postby Arborbridge » December 2nd, 2020, 5:00 pm

doug2500 wrote:We've probably all heard the arguments about why PI's can do better than Fund managers, and why Funds underperform benchmarks, but I've never read it in such a clear and convincing way:

It was flagged on Stockopedia this morning and I think it's well worth sharing here too.

As a fund manager I have good access to company management teams, third party research, professional subscriptions and a network of contacts. I attend conferences (virtually nowadays), capital markets events etc. I have Bloomberg data on tap and qualifications coming out of my ears. And yet a significant number of private investors will have performed much better than me.