Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77,Bhoddhisatva, for Donating to support the site

Where do I start?

Investment discussion for beginners. Why you should invest your money, get help getting started
smogg21

Where do I start?

Postby smogg21 » July 15th, 2022, 10:46 am

Hi,

I'm brand new to investing and am having a hard time understanding the minefield of information available on different investment strategies for my particular goals.

Essentially I'm looking to grow my money over the next 25-30 years to support retirement (this is in addition to a private pension I have) and I'm interested in a fund that will pay dividends which I can roll back into the fund to take advantage of compound growth over the longterm. I want to pay monthly into this fund circa 1200 and I won't be making an initial lumpsum deposit (so this will be grown from zero).

I've been looking at various funds on HL website which I think are suitable but they mention that this particular fund should only make up 6% of my overall portfolio.

What I am after is a single fund that I can pay directly into and grow my money for the future - where do i start?

ReformedCharacter
Lemon Quarter

Re: Where do I start?

Postby ReformedCharacter » July 15th, 2022, 10:55 am

smogg21 wrote:Hi,

I'm brand new to investing and am having a hard time understanding the minefield of information available on different investment strategies for my particular goals.

Essentially I'm looking to grow my money over the next 25-30 years to support retirement (this is in addition to a private pension I have) and I'm interested in a fund that will pay dividends which I can roll back into the fund to take advantage of compound growth over the longterm. I want to pay monthly into this fund circa 1200 and I won't be making an initial lumpsum deposit (so this will be grown from zero).