Donate to Remove ads

Got a credit card? use our Credit Card & Finance Calculators

Thanks to Rhyd6,eyeball08,Wondergirly,bofh,johnstevens77, for Donating to support the site

Online groceries query

Straight answers to factual questions
Forum rules
Direct questions and answers, this room is not for general discussion please
XFool
The full Lemon

Online groceries query

Postby XFool » March 22nd, 2020, 3:34 pm

I am new to online grocery shopping. Because of the current situation I tried it last week, with Sainsbury's. Didn't go too well, for obvious reasons.

I'm trying to understand how this works - Sainsbury's online system seems not to report if item is 'Out of Stock' while others, e.g. Morrison's, do. This means I cannot depend on Sainsbury's to reliably supply food online. Normally, one item dropped might be an inconvenience, but half the items missing in the present case is more than "an inconvenience".

Does anyone with experience of say, Morrisons system, know if their 'OoS', or otherwise, can be relied upon. Especially in the current case.

I had expected (wrongly?) that online would be a parallel system to a supermarket's shelf stacking but, if it simply means their employees go around picking stuff off the shop shelves to order, that rather undermines the whole scheme at present, AFAICS.

TIA

kempiejon
Lemon Quarter

Re: Online groceries query

Postby kempiejon » March 22nd, 2020, 4:14 pm

I don't think there is live availability for supermarket shops, some customers are placing orders a week in advance. I know both Sainsburys and Morrisons send pickers round the store taking items of shelves, I'd think most Tesco and Asda do this too, Ocado are centralised not sure about Amazon pantry.